Distinguished Alumni


2018 Distinguished Alumni Award recipients. From left to right: John McBride - Class of 1962, Kay Stroman - Class of 1970, Jesse Lopez - Class of 1984, Mary Blanche Wortham - Class of 1970, Freddy Duran - Class of 1995

Completed nominations must be submitted
no later than September 20, 2019

Click the banner to view all past Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients.

The purpose of the Distinguished Alumni Award event is to recognize and honor former graduates of the San Marcos High School whose achievements, strength of character and citizenship serve as models to inspire and challenge today's youth.   The SMEF alumni awards committee shall establish the highest standards in conferring these awards.

Eligibility for Distinguished Alumni Award:

  1. Open to any alumnus or alumna who graduated from and attended San Marcos High School for a minimum of two (2) years.

  2. Is at least 35 years of age at the time of the nomination.

Distinguished Alumni Nomination Procedure:

  1. Any person may submit nominations and letters of support, except for family members of nominee and San Marcos Education Foundation board members.

  2. Submittal of the completed nomination form provided is required. A typed cover letter must be attached summarizing the nominee's eligibility. Supporting documents, such as a resume, biographical data and three (3) support letters must be attached. These items must be emailed to the event chair once application is submitted. See application form below for details.

  3. The 2019 nominations will be accepted through Friday, September 20.

  4. Recognition of the selected distinguished alumni will be made at the the SMHS Homecoming Football game on November 1, 2019.

Distinguished Young Alumni Award

Eligibility for the Distinguished Young Alumni Award is the same for the Distinguished Alumni Award with the exception that this award is open to any alumnus or alumna who graduated from and attending San Marcos High School for a minimum of two (2) years and is UNDER 35 years of age.  Only one (1) Distinguished Young Alumni Award will be given per year.

Awards will be given based on achievement in the alumni's field of service, their strength of character and their positive impact on the community.